Thought Warrior

You are more than what you've been told.

Blog A Day Bust

on November 6, 2013

So for those of you who do not know, November presented a challenge to blog every day for the entire month. Guess what? I have already failed, it is the 6th of November and I am just starting. Ok… the key here is to get past the past and move forward with the right attitude. I am going to participate in this blog-a-thon even if I am slow off the start line. I know I can turn this around… I can spend a couple days posting 2 blogs or just continue through the first part of December. I am committed, I can do this!

I am currently in a Masters of Creative Writing program, something I have always had a passion for but really never saw a practical use for it. I decided that I only live one life and I should go for it and boy am I glad I did. Even in the face of what I thought was the worlds worst course ever to start with, it has turned out to be more insightful and enjoyable than I could have imagined.

What is the class you ask? Great American Directors, Quentin Tarantino.

I got that Email from my advisor and my heart sank, no offense to QT but these are not my favorite films. Before the die hard fans lose it, let me explain. I always saw these as films for men, sort of like a big screen Lifetime Channel, it had a specific audience and I was NOT IT!

Fear not Tarantino-aphiles, I am slowly becoming a believer. Not that I am able to stomach the erratic and egregious violence any easier, but I am seeing the beauty of the story. The dance between character dialogue and motivation of each character is nothing less than genius. The best part about being able to dive into this new program is simply my love for writing. I had my first book “published” when I was 8 for my family through a school authorship program that I was involved in. I went to state with a screenplay that I wrote at 14 about the historical view on women’s suffrage.

Somewhere along the way of having children, a husband, a family, priorities, and growing-up I lost my connection to this medium, I feel inspired and alive with my new pursuit. I started building an E-book on advocacy today and hope that I can share that with all of you in the future!Happy belated blog-vember!

Leave a Reply

